Day 636 – Teacher’s Day

IMG_5730Today is Teacher’s Day in Korea. Instead of having classes, the students were invited to make or buy gifts for their teachers and take part in games and sports in the school gymnasium.

IMG_5728The day began with a ceremony in the gym whereby all the teachers (myself included) were invited to stand at the front of the hall and face all the students. The students applauded as we bowed, and then the national anthem was sung by all.

IMG_5726IMG_5727It is traditional to give carnations to teachers on this special day, so I have proudly been wearing mine on my shirt all day.

IMG_5733I also received a letter written by a Grade 5 boy called Tae Jang. It even came in an envelope upon which Tae Jang had drawn and coloured in a picture of a teacher in a suit and tie wearing a carnation.

IMG_5735IMG_5736The letter was written entirely in Korean, so I am in the process of getting it translated with the help of my co-teacher. Needless to say, I will treasure it forever.

Here are my lovely co-teachers, Jennifer and Irene.

IMG_5729

About michaelhollin

Originally from Leeds, England, I am now an English teacher in Ulsan, South Korea. I am a graduate of the University of Huddersfield’s Business School and The College of Law Chester. I self-published my novel A Cause for Concern in September 2010.
This entry was posted in TEFLKOREA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

