Day 568 – Hee Yong

859704_10200266008546782_1822517324_oJennifer and I began teaching from the text book today for our grade six lessons. The first chapter of the text book is What Grade Are You In?

The chapter introduces the concept of cardinal vs ordinal numbers, so we highlighted the fact that in certain situations, such as the finishing position of a marathon competitor, expressing the date or the floor of a building, we use ordinal numbers, i.e. first, second, third etc, not cardinal numbers (1, 2, 3, 4 etc) which are used for counting items.

Jennifer is already beginning to identify the problem students in each class and is thinking about ways to keep them in line. I think it will work out well – Jennifer is quite strict and the students respond to her in a favourable way, so slowly their behaviour might improve.

I was delighted when newly-grade-three Kim Hee Yong poked her head through the library door and came in to talk to me. You may remember me blogging about her all the way back in 2011 when she was only a first grader but could count from one to ten and had a small arsenal of English words at her disposal already. It’s a very occurrence at my school so exceptional students like Hee Yong always stand out here.

For the very first time I will be teaching English to Hee Yong in this final semester, as she has now progressed to grade 3.

To my absolute delight Hee Yong asked for a pencil and paper so she could draw a picture of me (pictured at the top). I was half hoping to get to keep the drawing as a keepsake but she took it away with her. Oh well. At least I got the picture!

The temperature peaked at 18 degrees today. It’s such a pleasant relief to walk around the playground without my coat on. I’m looking forward to my second Korean spring. In three weeks the cherry blossom trees will bloom.

Yesterday the vice principal visited the library but it was bereft of students at that time. She is worried that not many students in general are visiting the library. About five minutes after she left, the regular four-member grade 2 girl clan, led by the boisterous So Yun, came in to play a board game. I think the VP’s timing was just off. We get plenty of visitors to the English library.

About michaelhollin

Originally from Leeds, England, I am now an English teacher in Ulsan, South Korea. I am a graduate of the University of Huddersfield’s Business School and The College of Law Chester. I self-published my novel A Cause for Concern in September 2010.
This entry was posted in TEFLKOREA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 568 – Hee Yong

  1. KG Unit says:

    I don’t know if this would offend you but the picture does look like you! What a talent 🙂
    I’ve taught kids before and they doodled pictures of me sometimes. At that time, I gave them a “yellow card” which was my class rule borrowed from football, but later I kindly asked them to give me the picture and kept it. So adorable of them 🙂

    • Haha it doesn’t offend me at all. The picture has an uncanny resemblance to me. I wish I could have kept it though. She took it away with her! Your yellow card rule sounds good I like it. Thanks for reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

